Interview – I Old Yeller I (2nd Gamerscore Leader)

27 04 2007


Digg!

We contacted I Old Yeller I and he was nice enough to give us an interview.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What/ who got you into video games?

I Old Yeller I: My older brother. He would always take me to arcades and we would just play for hours.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What was your first game console?

I Old Yeller I: Atari. I was 5 years old.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What made you want to get an Xbox 360?

I Old Yeller I: I got in the habit of buying every new system so it was just the next one on the list, but when i won tickets to Zero Hour i was kind of hooked in by MS. I felt like part of a gaming community instead of just another customer.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What was your experience like at Zero Hour?

I Old Yeller I: It was great, everybody there loved gaming and i had never been in that type of environment. It was also great being on of the first people to play all the games for the 360 at the time.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What is your favorite Xbox 360 game?

I Old Yeller I: Quake 4, by far.

VoLcOmKiDd911: Why Quake 4?

I Old Yeller I: I love how fast paced it is, the weapons and power-ups.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What was the first achievement you got and what got you hooked on gamerscore?

I Old Yeller I: My first achievement was “Score a Touchdown” in Madden 06′ and was 30 points. I got hooked on achievements because i am and have always been competitve. I always want to be the best weather it’s playing sports, my job, or video games and having an addictive personality helped with the achievement chase.

VoLcOmKiDd911: How many hours would you say you play a day?

I Old Yeller I: I would say each weekday i play anywhere from 5 to 12 hours a day, and weekends i dont play because my Girlfriend would kill me, thats her time.

VoLcOmKiDd911: How many Xbox 360 games do you own?

I Old Yeller I: I’ve owned all of them at one point but i trade them in as soon as i get the full 1000/1000 gamerscore in them. The only ones i keep are my Japanese games so i only have about 60 games right now.

VoLcOmKiDd911: So that means you have multiple 360’s?

I Old Yeller I: Yes, i have 5 360’s but unfortunatley i had to ship two of them to get repaired last week so now i am down to 3.

VoLcOmKiDd911: Five for what purpose?

I Old Yeller I: Different Region 360’s to play games that don’t come out to the U.S. and it also is helpful because i can boost myself in games to get certain achievements quicker.

VoLcOmKiDd911: What was the hardest game to get 1000/1000 in and what was the single hardest achievement for you?

I Old Yeller I: 2006 FIFA World Cup. The hardest achievement was complete all global scenario’s worth a grand total of 500 gamerscore. It only took 4 days but it was the longest four days i have ever spent on a game.

VoLcOmKiDd911: Do you rent games? If so how often? From? Online/ Store?

I Old Yeller I: I only rent my doubles for when i have to boost in a game and i use Gamefly, an online rental service.

VoLcOmKiDd911: Have you ever used game saves?

I Old Yeller I: Yes i have used gamesaves in the past because i hate to lose and when gamesaves were being used by 95% of my competition i felt that it was a necessary evil but i regret stooping to that level. Unfortunatley gamesaves were just the beginning, there is now a way to hack achievements in certain games, so for me GAMERSCORE IS DEAD. I am going to stick to only playing the games i enjoy like Quake 4 and Gears of War.

VoLcOmKiDd911: Do you get a lot of random messages from people asking about your gamerscore?

I Old Yeller I: I don’t get too many messages about my gamerscore, but when i play a game that has an online lobby i get a lot of people looking at my score and they either love me or hate me from that point which i find a little weird. A lot of people will assume that i am a fat, nerdy guy with no life what so ever which is not the case at all.

VoLcOmKiDd911: If you were asked by someone how to get one of the harest achievement like completing all the global scenario’s, what advice could you give to them?

I Old Yeller I: Play non-stop until you achieve the achievement and make sure you use the “B” button on defense and master leading your players into position on offence, but most importantly dont give up until you hear the achievement ‘pop’.

VoLcOmKiDd911: Thanks for your time.

I Old Yeller I: No problem, good luck with your Blog.




Actions

Information

11 responses

27 04 2007
darkhunter139

Awesome Interview volcom ! And thanks a lot for your time Old Yeller

27 04 2007
volcomkidd911

Thanks dark! Wait till you see who we have next week lol.

27 04 2007
Kayotix

Good interview! Lovin the blog man.

27 04 2007
Blizzaryst

Yeah I’m loving the interview, can’t wait for the next one.

27 04 2007
Alivor

That was pretty cool.

27 04 2007
littleworm

Very good guys in ine day you get a interview. one thing I want to note os you might want to have a longer interview.

27 04 2007
darkhunter139

If you make them to long people get bored and don’t finish reading them. I think that one was a decent size

27 04 2007
volcomkidd911

Yeah that one seemed good, with lots of information and was probably around the right size.

27 04 2007
Hartt91

Nice interview

27 04 2007
Goldmember715

I thought the interview was great, good site in general.

30 04 2007
CroTech

It had the perfect amount of questions. Great job darkhunter and volcom, you guys are a great team.

Leave a comment